Need help chosing a simple Lav Mic

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help chosing a simple Lav Mic

Hi guys ! newbie here, first of all i just wanted to thank you in advance for taking the time to read this, now let's get to bussiness:

So after a lot of  searching, online reviews and talking to the Udemy Team, i've narrowed it to 2 choices for the mic:

-Sony ECMCS3

-Audiotechnica 3550

both are recomemded by Udemy as starting mics, but i obviously cant test them out before buying them because my real life stores dont have those models.

After a bit of searching here, there are seems to be quite a number of you that used the the Rode smartlav...it's more expensive than the other two, but iam willing risk it if it's worth it.

I already both 2 lav mics online and they sucked, so i wanna make sure this is my last purchase...

Also should i invest in a digital voice recorder or just use the default recording app on my android ? or a more advanced app?

Thanks for the help guys.

9 Replies
ScottDuffy
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

So if you've already owned 2 lav mics, WHY did they suck?

My general advice is that ANY lav mic is good. The first lav mic I bought was less than $30. No name brand, just a cheap one from Amazon. It was fine for my purpose.

So... why did your last lav mics suck? What about them specifically sucked?

I would not recommend you buy a new one, even an expensive one, until you know that it's not something else in your recording environment that is the issue.

Right i suposed i forgot to explain that,