Should I post-process my videos to add contrast and sharpness?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I post-process my videos to add contrast and sharpness?

I'm just getting started, and video is a new world for me. When I do still photography, I do a fair amount of post-processing to enhance sharpness and contrast.

I've been experimenting with doing that with videos, and the results seem more pleasing to me if I add a touch of sharpness and equalization than they do straight out of camera. Below are screen grabs of a quick demo of what I'm talking about, with a 65% sharpness filter and 15% equalization filter in the VSDC Video Editor.

Thanks!

- David

UnprocessedUnprocessedAdded sharpen + EQAdded sharpen + EQ 

Is there any reason not to do that? The differences are subtle, but I'd notice them.

Attached are screenshots of a sample video "before" adding the sharpness and EQ filters and "after"

5 Replies
GregReverdiau
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

I do a bit of color correcting, including a bit of contrast with all my videos. I don't really mess with sharpness but I shoot with high-quality lenses and camera so I don't have to. The biggest thing is to get a good skin tone. Depending on the software you use, you can save those as pre-set and reapply them. If you shoot in a studio with similar lighting conditions, it will save you a lot of time. 

Unfortunately, I can't see the images you posted (not sure if it's on your side or on Udemy side), can you maybe repost them? 

Greg Reverdiau - Airplane and Drone Training

Hi, Greg. Not sure why you can't see them, but I'm re-posting the images in this reply. I'm gathering, from your response, that Udemy doesn't do additional processing.