1440p Recordings and Blurriness

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1440p Recordings and Blurriness

Hello,

I am about to publish my first coding course, which I recorded on 1440p.

I tried to preview the coding videos and they are looking really blurry. I learned about the adaptive streaming but it goes up to 1080p. 

Will my 1440p videos look good on auto 1080p? Do you have any experience / recommendations for the case ?

Thank you in advance,

Petros.

6 Replies

I would love to have the input of anyone who recorded on 1440p

I have limited knowledge of these things, so don't blindly trust me on this... 😉  Which resolution did you record in? I found that recording in 1920x1080 gives me the best results, because that matches the aspect ratio that the videos will be viewed in (16:9). When I first started out, I recorded videos on my MacBook in some weird resolution and found that the videos would get all blurry due to changing the aspect ratio. Of course you can record in a higher resolution as long as the aspect ratio is correct. So if you are not recording in 16:9, then that is probably your biggest issue. Since you have to contact Udemy to even enable 1080p, I'd say that uploading anything above 1080p is not worth the effort. I'd say record in a resolution with an aspect ratio of 16:9 and then upload your videos in 1080p. If you recorded in 2560x1440, then you should be fine.

That's correct! 

I recorded all the videos in 2560x1440 which is 16:9, but I am afraid that by downscaling to 1080p it is going to look blurry. 

A just tried a 720p video streamed on 720p and it looks more clear than 1440p streamed on 720p, and I am afraid the problem will persist on 1080p (in a smaller scale ofc).

Just don't want to see the 9 hours of content I created, streamed in bad quality 😕 . I thought 1440p is going to provide better results.

Cheers,

Petros.