Review Question

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Review Question

Go to solution

Hi, there!

As a newbie, I am learning as much as my students... My course is new and has only 7 students so far and no reviews yet.

The issue: I offered a free coupon to 2 people, one being a family member and one a total stranger who contacted me on my site and was very interested in my course. I wanted to make it possible for him to take it, plus I need students. Of course, I did not ask for any public reviews in exchange for it, that would be wrong. The family member actually won't be leaving a review for sure because I don't want anyone thinking it was fake and not honest (although he truly liked the course).

But the other student I am not related to or even know is really enjoying the course and asked me if he can leave a review, he wants to know if the fact that he got the free coupon would prevent him from doing so. I told him I would check and not to worry about it, the feedback he gave me was so helpful, but he is adamant about the review. Even wants to pay just to be able to review, as he feels it is not fair to get the value for free.

I learned that these coupons are tricky and won't do them again... but I don't regret helping someone out and I am happy they liked it...

Kindly,
Luisa
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Go to solution

Hi Luisa. Welcome to Udemy and congrats on your first course! Giving away free coupons is GREAT (in my opinion). I give away lots of free coupons, particularly when I first got started, and I still do when I launch a new course. Sometimes a student will ask a question about a course and I'll give them a free coupon just to be nice. Just last month I redesigned one of my old courses and it was a sunny day and I was in a good mood, so I sent a 3-day unlimited free coupon to my 38k students to join that course. I felt good about it 😉