cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Time per lesson for a web development course

Hello,

I am a new instructor on Udemy and I am just starting to make my first course online on Udemy.

My course is about web development (programming).

What will be the appropiate time (in minutes) per lesson?

Regarding the information of Udemy, a good practice is 2-6 minutes per lesson, but it also states that the programming field is an exception. I am willing to make each lesson of about 15-20 minutes long. Is this good? Or what will be the ideal or more appropiate orientative time (in minutes) per lesson in this field of programming (web development)?

Regards,

Néstor Llamas Llopis

6 Replies

Hey @Anonymous, I think the length of your lesson will depend a lot on what you're covering. If you think you can best cover a topic in 2-6 minutes, then that's great! If you need extra time to teach a topic and provide the best learning experience for students, then do that.

I know that's not a cut and dry answer, but I really do think it depends on your teaching style and what you're teaching. Some instructors may be really concise and finish teaching something in a couple minutes, while other instructors may include more examples and stories which would make a lesson longer. I would note that a lesson shouldn't be too long since people get distracted and may zone out. 

You can also purchase some courses from your competitors and see what they're doing. What length resonates best with you when you're watching a similar course?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello, @JocelynH,

Thanks for your answer. I already knew that what you are saying.