Form W for UK based instructors?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Form W for UK based instructors?

Hi there

I am a new UK based instructor.  I am just in the process of uploading my first course.  I have opted to be paid via Payoneer which is all fine but I have been asked by Payoneer, on behalf of Udemy to complete the relevant form W to confirm my taxation status in relation to the US IRS.

If you are an established UK-based instructor and you have gone through this process, can you tell me which of the W forms I should be completing and where I find the relevant information about the tax treaty between the UK and US and the percentage of earnings on which I do not have to pay tax in the US?  The information provided suggests that if I do not do this, I may not get paid by Udemy (always assuming someone wants to buy my course).

Any suggestions would be gratefully received but I realise you will not be a tax consultant and so I will not be able to rely on your information - I won't come looking for you if you get it wrong!

Thanks.

7 Replies

@ideostone I am trying to decide between Payoneer and PayPal so can't help with your question. Sorry. But I do need to hear your answer because this aspect of payment is a sticky point. Confusing.  Did you choose Payoneer over PayPal for a reason? Do they both ask for the w form? Apologies for answering your question with more questions but any advice you can give me would be great. You are further down the line than me.

LL

Hi Lizzy

I am afraid I did not get as far with paypal as finding out if it also required the form but as the form has been requested by Udemy, I suspect it will be necessary too.