cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do Artists typically do on Udemy?

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to Udemy and have just published my first course seen here: 

https://www.udemy.com/course/songwriting-i-come-from-a-land/

I come from a music, songwriting, artist background, and I don't really know the main market at Udemy.  For example, if most students are looking for technical training or language courses, then I have to set reasonable expectations about how many students I can attract to my songwriting course.

So, I'd like to know from those with experience, how do artists usually do on Udemy?  Thank you.

3 Replies

Hi @MMFSELCM .

There are other songwriting/composition type courses on Udemy. Do a search and check how they are doing. 

I had a look at your course and noticed all your videos are available for free preview. This means someone can do your course for free. 

The other thing I noticed is your first 2 videos are identical. You may want to fix that. 

Best of luck. 

Thank you LiamDavin1 for your help and suggestions.  I had no idea my content was offered like that for free preview.  This is very odd as when I created the curriculum, I only had the option of allowing downloadable content, so this preview option didn't show up when creating the course.  Also, they demand 10 minutes of preview, which I didn't know either.  I changed the options to only allow 2 of my videos for preview, but when I logged out and viewed the course, nothing had changed.  Free previews are still available on all of my videos except for one.

If anyone views my content for free, I should be able to charge Udemy for that, as they are the ones that enabled free options, not me.  I tried to contact Udemy, but I can't find a phone number or email to address the issue.  Do you know how I can get this resolved?  Thanks.

Hi @MMFSELCM 

This is the contact email for Udemy, instructorsupport@udemy.com.