Slow gaining traction

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow gaining traction

I am having trouble gaining traction. I have only had 1 sale in a month (at a discount price).

I think the content is good (of course it’s mine). I am a 40 year veteran in the field and have had past success in teaching students. Any recommendations that have helped you would be appreciated.

Landon

8 Replies

Landon,

I'm not great shakes either, but this is what I'm learning:

Emphasize the subject matter less and more what the student will be able to do. I'm enamored with my subject and almost unconsciously promote it, rather than the benefits to the student.

Make your pitch more emotional than intellectual.

Basically make a promise and prove how you will meet it.

Be simple and concrete, keep sentences short and to the point.

Present great content (student wins) early.

Study all the marketing ideas on the Udemy platform. And then use many of them.

Keep pushing forward with the patience of a saint.

Remember to entertain as well as teach.

You come across with great credibility and natural friendliness. Enjoy the learning curve and don't hesitate seeking input from other Udemy instructors. You've joined a warm and friendly group.

Good luck! 

Robert Brown, Ph.D.
Unique insights for personal & business success

Thanks; Robert for your kind words.

Robert's dead right. Prospects find your course via search so put yourself in the shoes and the mindset of the person running a search for your course. What are they after and what will they search for? And when they get there what will they see? Will your course description inspire them to take a next step or will they scroll on?

I completed Tee Henderson's copywriting course and it really helped me sharpen my content and targeting. She knows her stuff and it worth checking out. She'll teach you how to target and to simplify. https://www.udemy.com/course/the-complete-copywriting-course/