Hi everyone, Emmanuel's presentation

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi everyone, Emmanuel's presentation

Hi,

My name's Emmanuel, I'm from France, and I am a business analyst with a master's degree in marketing.

I also play the guitar since more than 10 years now, and a little bit of piano.

I plan to create courses on udemy, and as I am completely new to it, I would be glad to receive advices from experimented online teachers.

Feel free to answer me, I will answer back as soon as I can !

Best regards, I hope all is well for you in this ending year.

Emmanuel

12 Replies

Hi @EmmanuelP - Some things you should do, or be aware of:

1. Before spending weeks or months creating your course, do a bit of research first to find out how many courses already exist covering your topic. So many times I'll see a new instructor release a course and, after a couple weeks or a month, he or she has maybe a couple students and they wonder why. They never bothered to notice that 100+ courses already exist on their topic.
  2. If you are going to have Udemy market your courses, you will receive, on average, $1-$5 for each sale. If you are expecting to make hundreds of dollars per month, within the first 3-6 months, you will almost certainly be greatly disappointed. 
  3. Don't price your course too high. Many Udemy students simply won't pay more than $10 for a course because they wait for the next Udemy sale when prices are marked down to $10-$20.
  4. Most of your sales will come only when Udemy is running a sale. 95% of all my sales come when Udemy is running some sort of sale. Udemy students know how the game is played. All they need to do is to wait a week or two for the next Udemy sale and purchase a course 90% off regular price.

Hi Randy,

As a newcomer myself, I appreciate you sharing this information.  I'm just trying to figure out the best platform for my Resume MakeOver course for adults 50 and over.