How has learning helped you become a better instructor?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How has learning helped you become a better instructor?

Go to solution

Each week, we’re showcasing one of our 5 community values to celebrate what makes our community of instructors unique.  We have already shared 3 previous values, this week, we’ll be discussing the value “Be a learner”

Teaching is the final stage of learning, and at any given point in time, we all have the potential to be both students and instructors. To learn and become better instructors, we give and receive feedback and orient our words and actions around what we can control and will do.

“Compositing is a field that offers multiple ways to tackle a problem. As a self-taught compositor and Nuke artist, I want to share my knowledge with everyone. The field of visual effects is one where artists tend to have a lot of fun and innovate constantly. So, apart from sharing my knowledge with the world, I also see it as an opportunity to discover new techniques and perfect existing ones by teaching the process.” - Anandh (Sri Lanka)

Share a moment when you were a learner, instead of the teacher.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GregReverdiau
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

For me, the time I started teaching is the time I realized how I actually didn't fully understand certain concepts as much as I thought I did. I will preface this by saying that there are 4 basic levels of learning. Rote, Understanding, Application, and Correlation. The last one being when you can associate what has been learned, understood, and applied. That's the hardest level to get to. Rote is simply repeating something you've read or been told, whether you understand it or not.