Hello world (fist time post)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hello world (fist time post)

Go to solution

My name is Ross Mcgowan. I have been an instructor on Udemy for just over 6 months. I have 6 live courses available now. I have been doing this as a hobby but have decided lately to put some serious effort into it.

I am at the moment re-doing my courses to make them a bit more professional and expanding on them a bit. 

I cover topics in applied mathematics and physics. I think there is a market for graduate level courses. I see lots of courses at high school or undrgraduate level but there are lots of missing subjects which are deemed graduate level  (or third fourth year degree) that are not covered in Udemy (for example calculus of variations, Lagrangian mechanics, Fourier , Laplace , Z tranforms - I could go on and on).

So I'm in the position of upgrading and also trying to decide a strategy on what course to provide next. I have so many ideas and courses I know would work but want to choose wisely as I know the amount of time invested in a 10 to 15 hour lecture course.

I haven't got any questions in this post it's meant as an introduction and to say if there are any others out there who would like to get in touch with any advice or suggestions or to just say hello then it would be greatly appreciated.

Ross

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
FrankKane
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

Hello! 

I trust you're familiar with the Marketplace Insights tool in your instructor dashboard; the data in there is indispensible in forming this sort of strategy. I just don't know if existing topics are narrow enough to guide you toward a specific mathematical topic there.

Given the niche nature of these topics, it will be important to choose topics that aren't already covered by existing good courses, on Udemy or elsewhere. Sounds like you're already doing that analysis.