cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Free Course is A great way of getting students useful

Go to solution

I am New to udemy 

So just want to get advice 

Launching Free Course is Good to get Students or Having a Free Coupons code is Good 

On what Basics Students will enroll more ? 

Free Coupons or Free Course 

What's yours suggestions? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AliciaPaz
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

You will get many answers, for me, I created 1 free course to test this.  I got a ton of students, very little engagement and reviews were hit/miss over maybe 4 months before making it paid and now it's a best seller.  It was neither good nor bad and I got 1 free student to buy another course.

My new method is I make paid courses and then give away some free coupons usually a select group of people; people in my field via Linkedin, sometimes prior students who I know can't afford it and sometimes social media giveaways.  I create at most 10 free coupons a month to students I see either as a referral source (for me LinkedIn) or those who will engage in the course who are likely to leave a review.  

That being said you have some successful courses on here so I would also question if you need a free course unless you are doing this for altruistic reasons or a test to see if it funnels into more paid students in your other courses.  For me, it didn't go bad or good, but while it was free my reviews took a hit down to 4.0 which made my paid courses less desirable imo.

Alicia Paz M.A, QMHP

View solution in original post

3 Replies
AliciaPaz
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution