New Instructor, First course

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Instructor, First course

Hello,

I've been a student on Udemy for several years so I'm familiar with the format.  I have developed a YouTube channel with just under 20,000 subscribers, all from videos which I narrate so I decided to create my first course on a subject that I know well and that appears to be low competition.

I have worked through the process and the course is now under review.

Once approved I will be marketing using various social media accounts, a promo video on YouTube, and a landing page.

I have an idea for a second course but I think it'll be a stretch for me to create more that two due to a lack of expertise in any other areas, so I need a return on my investment by selling these courses, not providing them for free.

1. What marketing methods worked best for you?
  2. Do you regard your courses as constantly evolving and to which you add updated and new content?
  3. What's your best tip for a first-time instructor?

Thank you.

3 Replies

Anyone?

LawrenceMMiller
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

@Ben Lovegrove 

1. What marketing methods worked best for you?

If you go to the marketing section you will find a lot of discussion about what works or doesn't for instructors. I wrote this post a while back and it is still valid. Although it sounds like you already are doing a good bit of what is recommended: https://community.udemy.com/t5/First-time-Course-Creation/Plan-Your-Course-Marketing-Before-You-Publ...

2. Do you regard your courses as constantly evolving and to which you add updated and new content?