PPT and Article lectures

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PPT and Article lectures

Hello to all the Instructor's community!

I am a new instructor and I would like to ask you two questions.

My first is about PPT slides in video courses and how they affect students to watch them on their mobiles. I have been told by an experienced marketing manager in the e-learning industry that it is preferable for an instructor to avoid using PPT slides in his videos. I need your opinion on this matter.

My second question is about articles lectures. This type of lecture seems ideal for my courses and my industries. Can you recommend to me any ideas about the creation of such lectures? I will search for explainer material but always instructor's experience and practice are more than welcome!!

Thank you in advance.

Best.

Marios

5 Replies

Hi Marious, you can't have article-only courses on Udemy, as Udemy requires, a minimum of 30 minutes of HD video (720p or 1080p) per course.

I use PowerPoint for my many of my lectures, and PowerPoint is perfectly fine if you know how to make your presentations look modern and professional. Lately, I've been utilizing a lot of animations within my presentations, which my students enjoy. With that said, depending on the topic and material you're covering, you'll want to mix things up and doing talk head and other style of videos as well.

I use written-article lectures very sparingly, typically only for case studies I write up for my students, and I'd advise against using too many of them because students expect a video-based experience on Udemy. Also, competition is also increasing with hundreds of thousands of Udemy instructors, so you need to make sure you stand out against your competition.

Here's Udemy's Course Quality Checklist:

https://support.udemy.com/hc/en-us/articles/229604988-Udemy-Course-Quality-Checklist 

Hope that helps.