Sharing some frustrations and perhaps getting some advise.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing some frustrations and perhaps getting some advise.

Go to solution

Hello fellow instructors.

I've never posted here before. I am new to Udemy and have only been published since late Feburary. I am creating this post to share some of my more frustrating experinces starting out, and perhaps get some feedback from those who are more experinced than I.

It is really not my intention to sound overly negative in this post. I hope it will not come across that way. I just need to get some issues I'm having off my chest.

In the last two months, I have enjoyed what I perceive to be a fairly good start. My class has been growing steadily since publication and has just recently passed 125 enrollments. With one exception, all of my reviews have been positive, and my engagement numbers have been pretty consistently good as far as I can tell. It felt like I was off to a really good start, but then things took a turn.

On April 18th, my landing page views plumetted from around 80-100 per day to around 0-5. Looking at the graphs, I am not able to determine why. When friends of mine search for my class by name, it seems to display far down on the second page of the search results. This has been my first frustration in that I do not understand this sudden and radical drop in traffic and visibility. Did I do something wrong? Did I fail to do something?

By far the biggest issue I've had has been student questions. I have done my very best to politely answer every student who has asked me a question or sent me a message, and I almost feel like this is working against me.