Troubles with Online Course/Class Creation

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Troubles with Online Course/Class Creation

Hi Udemy team!

I’m a Udemy instructor and have been one since 2018. I’ve been working on a slew of courses to get out hopefully in the next month or so.

One thing I’ve noticed is that I am technologically inept and it really shows. I have a real problem with when I’m in the middle of teaching a lesson and some part of the software I use or something in my setup goes wonky causing the quality of courses to be very low in my opinion. Why is this a problem? Because the technology problems really distract me from what I am teaching, causing me to draw blanks, even sometimes in mid-sentence.

Do I have to make a script to follow? That’ll add another step to the process, but I don’t know. It may be the best thing to do for when I get distracted.

I’ve had the issue some on Udemy and definitely with another site called TakeLessons. I’ve had audio and video problems on Zoom recently too. I’m to the point that I almost don’t want to do the online course creation because I can’t go a time without something going out or wrong. When I am teaching, I need to concentrate on this—not whether the technology is working properly or not. Yes, I do check all my connections and things to make sure everything is secure and working before the lesson, but during the lesson, it acts up.

I’m also saddened that I’m almost driven away from creating the online courses because it’s a prime opportunity for me to give my musical knowledge to students around the world. I do teach in-person music lessons at a few studios around where I live. I’m thinking, “Should I just be limited to teaching that way or are there some ways to get inspired to create courses again?”