What's the best way to make a bilingual course? (English + Arabic)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the best way to make a bilingual course? (English + Arabic)

I know, I know. My first course attempt should be less difficult to achieve. Using two languages significantly decreases my target audience. But hear me out.

First of all: Hi! My name is Betule (Buh-tool) and I've been told that I'm good at explaining things though text. I might not be so great on camera, but that's a risk I'm going to take. One way to find out, right?

I'm bilingual, from Saudi Arabia. My background is in medicine and research.

I want to create a course that teaches people how to look at medical research, evaluate the strength of studies, and come to an appropriate conclusion independently of the paper's original researchers.

This includes:

• explaining the difference between observational studies, experimental studies, and systematic reviews.
  • explaining why experimental studies can suggest causation while observational studies generally can't.
  • telling the story of the medical research industry: how it began with independent researchers following their passions and how it reached our current financially-driven state.

I hope it's going to fun. I'm going to add little anecdotes where they fit, like Andrew Wakefield's story.

This course is aimed at people who are completely ignorant of research methodology and just put their faith in the research industry -- exactly like I was before pursuing my master's degree.

---

As for the target audience:

I guess my main goal is to get the most out of this experience. Improving my teaching skills, making money, getting a reputation/adding to my CV. I'm not sure which language is the best way to get the best results.

English: to reach the entire world