cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I spent $4,631.86 on Google Ads [Here's what I learned]

Lots of instructors wonder whether it's viable to spend money running ads for their courses.

So, I got my wallet out and spent $4,631.86 on Google Ads, so you don’t have to.

Before we get into the context of this post, let me give everyone some background on what I do for a living.

I run a dedicated SEO Agency in London, however, for our large clients that spend over a specific threshold with us, we offer a boutique Google Ads service as well.

At the time of writing, we manage Google Ads for 12 clients with a total monthly ad spend of $36,000/ m

I don’t say any of this to brag. This is simply to give this post more context and to reassure you that I’m not new to marketing by any means. 

In other words, this was not $4.6k spent by someone who has no idea what they’re doing and hoping for the best.

Goal

The ultimate goal was to try and generate as many sales as I can, whilst trying to stay as profitable as possible.

I opted to allocate the spend on one of my courses that was marked as the “Highest rated” in hope that if I could generate enough traffic, I would be able to:

• Convert a lot of that traffic into sales (the badge should boost conversions)  
  • Potentially generate enough sales to the point where my course became the “best seller” in that topic.

In total, I spent $4,631.86 (£3,484.12) over the course of 3 months (no pun intended).

As I’m UK-based, I’ll use the GBP figure from here onwards.

Money spent.png

The Campaign Details

Below is a spreadsheet I used to track all the sales that came from the ad campaign.

I used the instructor promo referral link as the destination URL for all ads. This allowed me to quite easily track the number of sales, whilst also ensuring I kept 97% of the revenue.

Overiew of sales.png

High-Level Numbers

In total, I generated 160 sales from 5,839 clicks (£3,484.12 total ad spend)