Isn't free enrolments useful?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Isn't free enrolments useful?

Hello, I'm new to Udemy and the community. I found it a good place to ask for help.

I've launched my first course almost a month ago. I published it as a paid course - got no enrolments. Tried promotions through both free and paid coupons - got no enrolments. Today I converted it to a Free course and got more than 100 enrolments in less than 12 hours. 

Then I came to see the discussions on the same topic. I figured out students love to collect free courses and most of them don't even start. 

Please help me with the following questions:

1. Isn't it good indicator for Udemy algorithm that my course is showing on the search result and as more free students log in everyday my course gain good rank after sometime? Then I convert it to a paid course, Is it good?
  2. If it is good, then how long should I keep it free? Few days? Few weeks? Few months? or until a specific number of enrolments?
  3. If it is not good, since most student won't finish (rather won't even start), leave bad or avg. reviews? will it effect the ranking?
  4. If I convert it to a paid course - will it automatically gain ranking? provided the fact the selling through coupons on social media didn't work, I got very few results and spent a decent amount of money. 
  5. Or what strategy should I follow?
4 Replies

Even i want answers to these questions. If someone could plz reply asap. Thanx

@ManishRaj068 wrote:

Hello, I'm new to Udemy and the community. I found it a good place to ask for help.

I've launched my first course almost a month ago. I published it as a paid course - got no enrolments. Tried promotions through both free and paid coupons - got no enrolments. Today I converted it to a Free course and got more than 100 enrolments in less than 12 hours.