Low enrollment

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low enrollment

Go to solution

I am a new instructor. What could be wrong with my course? Udemy does pop it up as a new hot course. Yet, students enrollment has not exceeded one student.

I am working on a second course, and possibly do a free course.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
LawrenceMMiller
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

@MeshachAkak339 Let me make a couple suggestions. Take a look at this post that lists a lot of really good posts with a lot of really good advice, all from experienced and successful instructors. There is no point in trying to repeat it all. Be careful who you take advice from here. https://community.udemy.com/t5/First-time-course-creation/Best-Instructor-Posts-of-All-Time-Course-C....

Second, the object of marketing is NOT to acquire a huge number of enrollments. When you offer free courses or widely distribute free coupons you can get many thousands of free enrollments that do little but boost your ego. The object is to SELL courses and gain revenue. Here is a clue: Reviews are from real students who paid money and are going through the course. Enrollments mean nothing. Experienced instructors who are in the business of selling courses, not giving them away, will have a ratio of reviews to students of around 3 to 1 or 4 to 1. Many of us have computed our actual earned revenue as about $11 per reviews. You can compute this on most instructors page. It may vary some depending on category, but not that much. For example, and I am NOT one of the top earners on Udemy, I am only a modestly successful instructor given the amount of time I have been on the platform, my revenue is right at $888K and I have 81k students. Exactly that ratio.