Udemy for Business, percentage promotion, fixed price promotion, pricing of course

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Udemy for Business, percentage promotion, fixed price promotion, pricing of course

Hello Everyone,

I am a new instructor and my course will be released very soon.  I want to be sure that I dont make any revenue mistakes and want to be certain that I participate in the right promotion, revenue stream.

I will be participating in Udemy for Business.  From a revenue perspective, is it worthwhile?

Also, is it worth doing percentage and fixed promotions?  I am probably going to price my course at 199 but really dont want to give it away for $10 or $11.  Anyone sell their course at the $199 with success or do you really need to sell discount at $10 or $11 to get traction or is there middle ground of 50% of which would be $98.

Also, which is the promotion that Udemy automatically lowers your price to the $10 and you have no control over it?

Any advice would be great.  Glad to be part of the Udemy community.

Thanks,

Gail

2 Replies
Hypnodan
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @GailMiller536 ,

Welcome to the community. I've not got any courses in Udemy for Business currently so I can't answer about whether that is worthwhile. I'm sure other instructors will share their experiences of this.

Unless you have an alternative way of selling your courses (like a following off of Udemy/mailing list etc) for a higher price or have very low competition on Udemy and know people will pay the higher price, most instructors opt-in to the Udemy promotions, this means that their courses will frequently sell for perhaps $20 or less, often about $10-$15. It is very rare for individual Udemy sales to be for a higher amount than this. Udemy is more about volume of sales rather than price of any individual sale.