Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bella
Community Manager
Community Manager

What is your teaching style?

Happy June Instructors!

This month we are taking a deeper dive into learning and teaching styles. All of you bring such a diverse set of experiences, backgrounds, and teaching styles to Udemy and as a result, our learners are presented with a world-class learning experience. 

We’re interested to know, how would you describe your teaching style? 

Share your response below!

10 Replies

Would be interested in this discussion.  I think my style is thought based

I am a martial arts teacher and part of my teaching style has to be physical, because we have to do a lot of things with our bodies.  There is also an internal aspect to the martial arts that it is not that easy to teach nor comprehend by the masses.  With this in mind, I also coach on the importance of connecting one's breath to movement and the feeling the technique evokes from the student.  This what is called kinesthetic awareness.  It is very easy to put it here in writing but again the hard part is to convey it to the student's specific style of learning so they can get it.  

I have always tried to be authentic, personable and real. I think it is more important to be real rather than. Try to be perfect. 

That's right Julian, perfection does not exist and what is good for some it can be terrible for others. 

Teaching style is a broad topic. It can be broken down into different parts. 

Content: I like to be practical. I generally share enough theory for you to understand why we are doing something a particular way, but give the hands-on approach. I also do not mask mistakes, instead, I turn them into teachable moments. 

Delivery: I try to be natural. I script as far as knowing what I want to say, but I try not to read and sound rehearsed. I will chuckle at myself and make it sound like I am having a conversation with the viewer, rather than dictating the content.