When does my course "updated"?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When does my course "updated"?

Hi

I'm pretty new to Udemy. 

I have a quick question to which I couldn't find an answer elsewhere.

I see courses with "Updated July 2, 2019". I wonder what is the definition / criteria of "update"? Does it include just a font change or you need to add a complete new section or chapter....?

I'd appreciate it if someone with experience here could help me.

9 Replies

I just go in and make changes to an article every month. 

ElianaC
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Hi @Mike Takada Even you have recently updated your course, there is a criteria for course changes that our product team has set in order for the "last updated" information to change. There is a bar that must be reached involving a certain amount of updates to your course content, before the “last updated” information changes.

As a means to help ensure the integrity of our marketplace, we aren't able to share that criteria externally.

In case you have further questions, please reach out to instructorsupport@udemy.com.

Eliana Cerna

Udemy Community

Is this some kind of joke? As an instructor I want to know what to do for my course to show updated. Why does Udemy hide this information/criteria? At least tell us, the new content must be X amount of length to update your course or a file must be uploaded or something else. 

Are we playing hide and seek here? Is this how you treat your Instructors? This criteria thing is not a secret service information you should be hiding for god's sake.

@IsmailCenk I completely agree

Udemy, care to chime in as to why you're playing games with the people who bring you money?