New to this platform

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to this platform

Looking forward to discussions & collaborations. I'm new to this platform, a bit nervous but ready to get started!! Hopefully the discussions will assist.

3 Replies
AliciaPaz
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi and welcome Nakiea,

My piece of advice is just to do it and stick with it.  Make high-quality courses but spend less time contemplating doing it and more time creating it! You will find lots of encouragement, honest feedback and help in creating your course, so poke around.  There are also some Udemy courses on making Udemy courses I found invaluable. 

Good Luck and ask away!

Alicia 

Alicia Paz M.A, QMHP
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Nakiea413,

Good advice from @AliciaPaz, but I'd even recommend making bad courses to get started.  If you stop to think about it, there are so many reasons for you not to do this.  There's too much you need to know, you're not an expert in your subject matter.  You name it.  The truth is that it's all hoowey!

When I started on Udemy almost 5 years ago I grabbed a headset microphone out of a copy of Rosetta Stone Spanish I had lying around, got a 30-day trial of Camtasia Studio 2018 and I was off.  Three months later, Tech Smith had accidentally extended my trial period, I'd purchased a better Logitech headset and I had 10 Udemy courses published.  From there on there was no looking back.

You need to decide whether you're going to commit yourself to doing this or not.  If you're ready, you need to learn some stuff, but not much and much of it is on this forum or pointed to from this forum.