Question on tax forms and applicable taxes

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on tax forms and applicable taxes

Hi,

I am a new Udemy instructor and have some questions related to the tax processes (I am an  Romanian citizen - for context in the discussion).

I was requested to upload a tax identification form (I uploaded the W-8BEN form) and sent it.

First question: By looking on the form after a few days, I've seen that I left off some blank spaces (where I should have completed the form) - to be honnest it was my first form of this type and did not have correct context on what exactly I need to fill in and how. Is it possible to upload another W-8BEN form with correct data?

Second question: If I have uploaded the W-8BEN form, will taxes be automatically deducted from my payment and paid or I need to do some additional stuff to pay additional taxes here in Romania? My understanding is that when I upload this form and I will receive payments from my courses on Udemy, the taxes will be automcatically deducted and no additional payment is required in the current country (Romania) correct?

I hope to clarify this...since I am confused on the process and want to have things in a correct way setup.

Please note that 'Romania and the United States of America have signed a double taxation treaty that is meant to prevent double taxation of income and property and also prevent fiscal evasion. ... Its provisions are meant to encourage foreign investments and simplify taxation for individuals who are residents of one or both countries' - I hope this helps in this context of asking my questions.

Thank you

15 Replies

Hi Alexandru, regarding your second question I was looking for the same information, have you find anything yet?

I just got in live chat with a Udemy representative, asked the exact same question and  they confirmed the taxes are automatically deducted. Hope this helpsudemy tax W-8BEN ROMANIA.png

Hi Alin,