Thought

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thought

Log yeh to chahte ki aap acha kare but, vo yeh kabhi nahi chahte aap unse acha Kate. Thanks.

1 Reply
FrankKane
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

For those wondering, the translation of this Hindi phrase is:

"People want you to think, but they never want you to talk to them"

From a societal standpoint, it's certainly true that there's no shortage of people who want to dictate their views to you while remaining closed-minded about your own views.

This is a forum about making online courses however. So let's try to work this into the context of creating courses. As an instructor, I'm kind of guilty of this one-way communication - because I have hundreds of thousands of students and I simply can't talk to all of them. That's the point of Udemy; it allows us to scale up the distribution of our knowledge through video courses.

If students were as closed-minded as this quote suggests, then nobody would buy courses! But thankfully, they do. There are still plenty of curious people in the world, even if they're not the loudest.

But let's get back to the spirit of this quote: everyone wants to dictate their views to you without listening to your own. If you're teaching objective truths, like science and technology, I don't see the problem. But I can see how the one-way nature of online courses could be an issue when more subjective or controversial topics are being taught. There is the potential for someone posing as an expert spreading misinformation through this form of media. Udemy's community ratings should suppress most of that stuff naturally.