First course published! - Constructive feedback / suggestions needed!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First course published! - Constructive feedback / suggestions needed!

Go to solution

Hello everyone! 

I'm a new instructor who just published the first course! Do you have any pointers and/or suggestions to engage more people to enroll in my course? It's called "Backend Web Development Certification (PHP)".  Is there anything more that I can do to find students?  

I already shared the course with my local network of friends and family. 

I'd appreciate some insight on this! Thank you for your time!

Best regards! 🙂 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
FrankKane
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

Congrats on your launch!

Is this course intended to help students pass a specific industry-standard certification exam, or is the "certification" passing your own test at the end of the course? If the former, indicating the specific test it's intended for in the title and description would probably yield more search traffic.

I don't know when you published it, but it does take a few days for new courses to make it into Udemy's search index and promotions. Sometimes you just have to give it time.

Also web development is a highly competitive category on Udemy; a 2-hour course is going to find it challenging to go up against existing courses with hundreds of hours of content. Make sure your course is differentiating itself from the top-sellers in your category somehow.

Finally I'd recommend taking a course on Udemy SEO; I've found those efforts yield many more students in the long run than trying to promote your course yourself.

View solution in original post

2 Replies
FrankKane
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

Congrats on your launch!