Question about using dataset in my online course on Udemy

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about using dataset in my online course on Udemy

Go to solution

Hello Udemy Instructory community. I am a new instructor who is trying to publish my first course on Udemy. I am wondering if anyone knows answer to this specific question.

My course topic is on data analytics/data analysis. For my course, I have carefully use the dataset that is publicly available from Open Government Data or some repositories like UCI respository and Kaggle. 

Here is my question, I have reviewed and selected those datasets under the licenses of Creative Commons Attribution or Public Data Licesne where only commercial uses are allowed. Where some licenses do mentioned that for commercial proper attribution/citation is required.

Will this be perfectly fine? Although I have done my share of studying if seems like I couldn't really get solid answers from Internet Search. So I thought it will be great to hear out experiences from other Udemy instructors who had similar experiences or knows the answer to my question.

Thank you very much for reading my msg.

Regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
FrankKane
Community Champion Community Champion
Community Champion

Go to solution

Usual "I am not a lawyer" disclaimer applies...

I've never had an issue using public domain or properly attributed CC data sets. But to be extra careful, you might just include a link to download the data set from its source instead of including a copy of it with your course.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
ElianaC
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Go to solution